Baroque Myriam

The Eumenides — The Oresteia

The final, breathtaking play in the tragic Oresteia is The Eumenides. It deals with the critical question as to whether or not the condemned prince Orestes is guilty of murder. Read More


Libation Bearers — The Oresteia

Libation Bearers is the second tragedy in the Oresteia. It tells about the strong-willed prince Orestes, only son of the King of Mycenae Agamemnon, who comes home to find that his dear father has been tragically killed. Libation Bearers also tells of the inescapable deaths of the hypocritical Clytemnestra, queen and mother of Orestes, and her lover, Aegisthus. Read More

Agamemnon — The Oresteia

The Oresteia is a trilogy of Greek tragedies written in 458 B.C. for the Dionysia festival. They were written by the Greek playwright Aeschylus, who is often referred to as the Father of Tragedy. The three plays in the Oresteia are Agamemnon, Libation Bearers and The Eumenides. Read More

Works and Days — Hesiod

Works and Days by the Greek poet Hesiod is a persuasive work and partly a manual on how to farm and live an honest, prosperous life. It begins with Hesiod persuading his brother, Perseus, to share their inheritance, which the latter had taken. The latter half of the poem is a useful handbook on how to farm, sail, have slaves and live prosperously. Read More

Theogony — Hesiod

Theogony is an 8th century poem written by the Greek poet Hesiod that describes the origin of the gods of Mt. Olympus. In the poem, three generations of gods are described. Read More