Introduction to Book I of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

Ovid (43 B.C. to 17/18 A.D.), born Publius Ovidius Naso, was a Roman poet who was banished by the unjust Augustus Caesar in 8 A.D., the same year he wrote Metamorphoses. This work is composed of fifteen books, which contain two hundred and fifty myths. They recount stories from the Creation until the death of Julius Caesar.

Metamorphoses begins with an invocation to the immortal Roman gods. The Creation, from the point of view of the Ancient Romans, began with Chaos. Then an unknown god Continue reading